Parliamentary bye-election in the Kailahun District


Parliamentary bye-election in the Kailahun District

The National Electoral Commission has declared SLPP’s Navo Kai-Kai winner of the parliamentary bye-election in constituency 001 in the Kailahun district. According to NEC, Madam Navo polled 10,177 votes which is 69.37 percent against APC’s Haja Nasiratu Jalloh with 4,493 votes which is 30.63 percent.
NEC reports that voter turnout was 15,257 which indicated that 48.74 percent voted out of a voter register of 31,306. Total number of valid vote cast is 14,683 and invalid 574 votes.
Whiles in Constituency 050 in the Port Loko district, APC’s Osman Karankay Conteh emerged winner with 10,103 votes which is 68.81 percent against Mohamed K. Mansaray with 4,287 votes which is 29.2 percent. SLPP’s Alusine Bundu polled 293 votes which is 2 percent of total vote cast.
Meanwhile, the Chairperson of National Elections Watch Marcella Samba-Sesay has told SLBC that the elections were free, fair and peaceful and that voter turnout was good.
There was full Security presence of both the military and police. She said that even though political big guns visited the polling stations but no party interference was visible.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *